Lemon Chia Protein Cookies

Version 2

I wanted to make a snack that was sweet and yummy yet still had some nutritional value.  I have a giant bag of nutrient-rich chia seeds that I’ll never get through by just spooning a few on my yogurt so I figured I better start baking and cooking with them when I can.

I found and adapted this recipe for lemon chia seed protein cookies.  It was a bit too “healthy” for me.  I swapped out the artificial sweeteners (I can’t stand their odd taste) for good old granulated sugar and upped the coconut flour and liquids to make a bigger batch.  I also don’t care to spend an arm and a leg on protein powder so I just bought 2 packets of the cheapest whey protein power I could find in the grocery store and omitted the anthem gum entirely.  The original recipe is very particular about the brand of whey protein and amount of coconut flour because of their absorbency. But after the dry ingredient adjustments, I just ended up small squeeze more of lemon juice to my dough at the end since it looked a tad dry and the cookies still came out tasty and chewy.

If you’re like most people, you probably don’t buy coconut flour often or ever. I didn’t have any in my pantry and was ready to make a normal wheat flour version but then I found coconut flour in the bulk section of HEB.  I got a scoop (maybe about a cup an a half worth, more than I needed) for about $1.

Chia’s can be expensive. I bought my first couple of bags at TJmaxx for 3 or 4 dollars I think (much more reasonable than my $15 giant bag from Costco).  They’re very versatile. I added them to my granola bars, I put them on my yogurt and I’ve been meaning to try making a chia pudding with them. I think its worth the purchase, but I guess you could omit them from this recipe all together.

I can’t say this is my favorite lemon cookie recipe – maybe its the protein powder and coconut flour, maybe its that I’m not huge into lemon baked goods – but its over all a good treat that isn’t too terrible for you and contains more nutrients than you typical cookie or sweet treat.

LEMON CHIA PROTEIN COOKIES

  • 1/2 c coconut flour
  • 2 packets vanilla whey protein powder (~78 g total, I used the Jay Robb brand because it was the cheapest, just make sure you get whey protein)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp (3g) lemon zest (from about 1 1/2 medium lemons)
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 tbsp (45mL) freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 1 1/2 medium lemons)

 

In a small bowl, mix together the coconut flour, protein powder, sugar, baking powder, salt, chia seeds, and zest. In a separate bowl, whisk together slightly cooled butter, egg,  vanilla and lemon juice. Add the liquid mixture to the coconut flour mixture until completely incorporated. If it looks to dry, add a squeeze more of lemon juice. If its too wet (unlikely), at a teaspoon of coconut flour.  Let the cookie dough rest for at least 10 minutes.

While the cookie dough rests, preheat the oven to 325°F, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Roll dough between your hands to make 1 inch balls and place on a baking sheet. Using a piece of parchment paper to keep your hands from sticking to the dough, flatten the balls to about a half inch thick.) Bake at 325°F for 11-13 minutes. The edges should be just slightly browned.  Cool the cookies on the baking sheet for at least 10 minutes before removing to finish cooling on a wire rack or paper towel.

Makes  about 20-22 , 2 inch round cookies.

Leave a comment